Rum Balls

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas… well, the only Christmas-y thing we have done is make Rum Balls. Christmas day this year will be spent in Mozambique with my dad camping. So we are forgoing the tree, decorations & presents, and instead going exploring and camping. Just like we did when I was a kid. We are going to go snorkelling and eat seafood on the beach until we are so full we have to roll back to our campsite. I’m finally going to learn to scuba dive too.

But there is one tradition in our family that we couldn’t pass up. The making of and gorging on rum balls is a staple part of my families diet all through December. For as long as I can remember rum balls were made in quantities large enough to feed several neighbourhoods. Wrapped in cellophane and spread out to teachers, co-workers, friends and family as gifts, they were our family contribution to Christmas spirit.

So arriving in Johannesburg with a bottle of original Bundy Rum (my sisters Christmas present to my dad) and a bottle of limited edition Dark Oak Bundy Rum (my Christmas present to my dad), the first thing my dad said was “now we can make some rum balls”. And either my sister and I should have communicated better on our choices of gifts not to double up, or we know our dad so well that the only acceptable gift was as much Bundy Rum as I could carry into the country. I am going with the later, as there is nothing worse than living in another country and not having access to your favourite foods or drinks from home. Plus, through mine and my sister’s sensational ability to know just what dad would want, we were now able to make rum balls.

And our family Christmas tradition can live on, even if it is in another country.

Ingredients

Ingredients

Rum Balls

250g Weetbix

1 can of condensed milk

1 cup of cocoa

1 cup of shredded coconut

1 1/2 tablespoons of rum (although this is really flexible, so add what you want to suit your own taste)

extra coconut for rolling.

Method

Crush Weetbix in a mixing bowl. Stir in cocoa and coconut. Add condensed milk and rum. Using your hands combine mixture, then roll into small bite size balls. Roll in extra coconut. Place in fridge to cool. Then eat!!

Rum balls... & the benefits of being the one making them

Rum balls… & the benefits of being the one making them

 

Leave a Reply

