The other “Big 5”

Most people head to Africa to see the Big 5: Lion, Leopard, Elephant, Buffalo and Rhino. Of course I’d like to see these animals too, but driving around Kruger National Park I think I was lucky to discover a new Big 5 in animal world attractions.

1. Giraffe

From mating on street corners to manipulating their jaw to stick their tongue in unreachable places. Giraffe have made it to the top of my Big 5 safari experience.

In giraffe culture tongues are used to clean their nose…

Next time they should avoid public areas such as a street corner if they are after privacy

2. Elephant

While these are part of the original Big 5, I love them for a whole different reason. My Big 5 list is not made up with the five hardest animals to kill, but with the five quirkiest animals I came across in Kruger.

I can smell you

3. Dwarf Mongoose

These tiny little critters make their homes inside disused ant hills. They like to play chicken with passing cars, running out in front of you and moving just as you slam on the brakes and playing hide-n-seek while trying to take photos.

Peek-a-boo

4. Zebra

The herd stayed hidden behind the bushes until the first Zebra made its way out into the clearing. Slowly they all followed. After a few metres the first Zebra turned around… the herd followed. It was very cute.

Leader of the pack

5. Baboons

Baboons are a favourite for sentimental reasons. Two years ago walking through Teman Negara in Malaysia my travel friend blamed the noises coming from his body on the Baboons. Never mind Malaysia doesn’t have Baboons. Every time I visit Africa I now look out for Baboons and smile remembering my dear friend.

Mumma & Baby Baboon

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. FindTripInfo
    Jul 03, 2012 @ 21:15:11

    This blog post made me laugh, remember my days on safari and long to be back in the bush. Those giraffe are as bad as the lions!

    Reply

    • Emma
      Jul 04, 2012 @ 06:50:29

      On our last day we stopped at a sighting of Leopard. We couldn’t see them, but you could here the two of them. Apparently the animals of Kruger are not worried about privacy as they choose spots right on the side of the road to mate! Thanks for checking out my post and I’m glad you got a laugh out of it. We laughed a lot on Safari with all the antics the animals got up too 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

