End of Semester Chaos

Week 10 of the university semester has arrived slapping me squarely across the face, before throwing a bucket of ice water over my head.  It’s the week where students across campuses everywhere start freaking out because it’s just dawned on them that their final assignments are all due in less than a months time.  The week where students start falling asleep in the middle of the day (and not because they’ve been partying to hard) but because Week 10 lethargy kicks in.  The sinking, depressing feeling that settles over you that you’ll never make it to the end.  Never mind that you only have three weeks of classes to go.  Never mind that millions of students before you have suffered through the same end of semester epidemic, only to have survived to live (and therefore party) another day.

If my posts become sporadic and incomprehensible, you will now understand why.  With five assignments left to complete in less than a month, my decent into end of semester madness should be swift.  But awaiting me at the end of it all is six glorious weeks off.  Six weeks which I’ll be starting on a Singapore Airlines flight, the day after my last piece of assessment is due.  Six weeks to travel around Africa interning with an aid organisation.

But first I need to survive the last few weeks of semester…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lagos
    May 09, 2012 @ 06:44:21

    I can’t wait for this semester to end.

    Reply

  2. Kyley
    May 09, 2012 @ 08:08:46

    How very recognizable! I only wish I got this feeling a month before all my assignments are due, instead it only comes up 2 weeks before which puts me in so much more stress..!

    Reply

    • Emma
      May 09, 2012 @ 08:39:14

      I think that’s why it’s really kicked in with me now. The last two weeks of semester I will be travelling a bit and have work stories to finish before I head off to Africa, so I am aiming to finish all of my assignments in two weeks, not four… Crazy?? Quite possibly!!

      Reply

      • Kyley
        May 09, 2012 @ 08:46:58

        Hahaha well good luck! It seems like I work harder/are more motivated on time pressure so I’m sure you will manage! Have fun in Africa

Leave a Reply

