Distractions

I am coming into the final weeks of this semester at university.  With seven assignments due in the next month, I should be hard at work on these.  Instead I find myself scouring the internet for information on an idea I’ve had.  You know one of those projects you have a dream about and upon waking in the morning, it’s all you think about?  Well two days ago, I had one of those ideas and ever since I have been going through details to make it a reality.

The problem is that my idea is quite large and therefore wouldn’t be able to be fulfilled until March/April 2014.  Which is 23 months away.  Plenty of time.  Unlike my impending deadlines for my seven assignments at the end of May 2012.  And yet, I can’t shake my enthusiasm to start planning my project, even though I have more pressing responsibilities at uni.  Here lies the great problem with procrastination.  It’s far more fun to plan an overseas adventure than it is to analyse the techniques used and their link to social context in Emily Bronte’s Wuthering Heights.  And without passing my classes at uni, the projects I dream up will never become a reality… because I will spend the rest of my life at university repeating subjects until I finally finish something.

So with this in mind, I guess the logical choice is to get back to writing assignments.  For it’s only one month away until the end of the semester and then I can spend seven weeks plotting and planning the logistics of my new project.  I guess in the mean time you’ll just have to watch this space to find out more…

Leave a Reply

