My Mum

A mother is someone who dreams great dreams for you, but then she lets you chase the dreams you have for yourself and loves you just the same.

~ Unknown

Today is my mum’s birthday and as much as she would like to forget about it, I am celebrating it for her.  We might be in separate cities, but for the past 29 1/2 years of my life she has been through everything with me.  When I’m happy, she is happy, when I’m hurt, she hurts too.  When my life falls apart, she is always there, even if it’s just to sit and hold my hand, because as all mother’s know, sometimes you have to let your children make their own mistakes in life, as difficult as it can be.  Waiting about patiently, always at my side, wanting nothing more for me than to be happy, healthy and loved.

My mum is an inspiration.  From trekking over mountains in New Zealand, glaciers in Patagonia and cliff faces in Spain, to venturing to Antarctica to photograph whales, seals and penguins.  She is not afraid to get out and experience all that life has to offer.

So thank you for everything you’ve done and taught me.

And wishing you many more birthdays, so that I have you around for many more adventures.

Leave a Reply

