A Trip Outside

Journey: The act of traveling from one place to another; a trip.

The word journey makes me think of travelling to far off destinations, on long haul flights, to locations that can only be accessed after a bus, boat, motorbike trip or a combination of all three.  Lately I realised that it doesn’t have to be that far fetched.  At the moment I’m on a journey of repairing my knee.  There’s rehab, both physical and mental, that everyday takes me on new journeys of discovery as I sweat, cry and swear my way through it all.  Then there are journeys of the everyday variety.  Journeys to the shop to get groceries.  A journey to university to apply for credit on previous subjects, only to find out I can get credit for all of them and possibly finish earlier than first anticipated.  Journeys through the world wide web, that start as time fillers and end in me learning something new or finding some new opportunity to explore on my next journey online.

I’ve realised that I don’t have to leave the country to go on a journey, that opens me up to the opportunity of meeting weird and wonderful people or learning about other cultures.  I can do that with out even leaving the house.  Although it’s more fun when I do get to venture out, even if it’s only to the front of my building to check the mail.  Today waiting for the bus outside my building, was a man.  He had black jeans on and a belt covered in studs.  Hanging off his belt were chains and all sorts of metal paraphernalia (chunky shiny metal things that looked like knuckle dusters, but I’m not really sure what they were).  His fingers were covered in big shiny rings and a few rows of chains hung around his neck.His hair was greased up into a 1950’s James Dean style quiff and he stood at the bus stop with his hands on his hips, staring out into the distance.  He reminded me of Superman, with lots of metal hanging off him instead of a cape.  Walking back down the driveway to my place I came across the three Korean children that play in the car park every afternoon.  The scuffle of a soccer ball and the sound of their squeals as they chase each other around float up into my apartment every afternoon, except today when I wave hello and smile.  They continue running, smiling on their way past, in between squeals as they get closer to catching each other.  From the window of my office, where I sit and type every day, the smells of curry slowly cooking away in an apartment somewhere below mine, waft up making my mouth water.  I really want to go in search of the fantastic smell.  I’m not sure how it would go if I knocked on their door and asked for cooking lessons, but…

Even when we live somewhere, we are all still travellers or tourists to some degree.  Every moment is a journey of discovery and I’m the first to whip out my phone and take a photo, capturing the moment.  After all journeys are not about the end destination, but what happens on the way to a destination.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. http://andcarinsurancequotes.com
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 03:11:42

    Just a smiling visitor here to share the love (:, btw outstanding design.

    Reply

  2. Emma
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 07:33:15

    Thanks for taking the time to check out and share the love on my blog. I really appreciate it 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

