Travel Bug

Right now my mum is on a big ship cruising down to Antarctica.  My dad just flew back to the US last week and flies out to Nigeria next week.  I have friends working or travelling in Canada, snowboarding and family living overseas teaching.  Everyone seems to be planning trips overseas… except me.  Wait, let me rephrase that.  I am planning trips overseas, it’s just that it will be a very long time before any of them come to fruition.  And I’m jealous.  The travel bug is rearing it’s ugly head laughing in my face, after having just bit me on the neck, injecting me with it’s highly intoxicating venom.

No matter how I plot and plan, the universe is conspiring against me ever leaving home.  Sitting around with my wonky knee all day, gives me plenty of time to trawl the internet for things to do and places to go.  The list continues growing.  Unfortunately the money to fund any of these plans is completely depleted and I am now at the point where selling off body parts to make money is looking like a grand idea.  I have a right knee going cheap.  In fair condition, doesn’t quite straighten or bend, and knee cap clicks back into place most times…

At least in my travel bug induced delirium I can continue to dream.  Beaches I would lie on to catch up on reading, mountains I want to climb, food I want to eat/cook and languages I want to learn.  I’ve spent some time narrowing down the prospects, as it is better to have a clear goal of a few destinations and maybe then I will reach them sooner.  This is my new theory, as aiming to see everything in this great, big old world of ours was probably a little far-fetched.  Not out of reach, but overwhelming to contemplate.

My travel bug destinations:

– Amalfi Coast, Italy

– Big cities and little villages for contrast, India

– Beaches and jungles, Ecuador & Columbia

– Any of these in Africa: Botswana, Kenya, Tanzania, Mozambique, Zambia, Uganda, Mali, Madagascar

– Burma (Myanmar)

– Base camp, Nepal

– Swim with the humpback whales, Tonga

– Learning to cook through Sri Lanka

– Snowboarding, Japan

– Learning to speak Spanish, Spain

Hopefully soon, one of my posts will actually be from one of these places…

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Goals « emmamakepeace

Leave a Reply

